Client Testimonials

Here's what some of our fans have to say about working with the My NC Homes team. For even more great testimonials like these, check out the video testimonials in our blog

Larry Tollen has helped me and my family on four separate occasions to find or sell a house. My brother-in-law bought a house in Hillsborough with his help in 2007, my mother bought a house in Chapel Hill in 2010, my wife and I sold our house in Durham in 2014, and we have now bought a new home in  Chapel Hill this year, 2018. Larry has always been easy to reach, easy to communicate with, and very knowledgable about the ins and outs of selling/buying real estate, which is especially helpful when it comes time to negotiate with buyers and sellers. Additionally, he has on call several helpful handymen who can do quick, expert repairs, as well as clear and haul away trash, unwanted furniture, and moving materials (paper and cardboard). We were confident in 2014 when we had Larry help us sell our house, even though we were already living in England. He negotiated the entire sale long distance, via email and express mail, and we were apprised of every detail. The same consideration went into his work for us when we wanted to buy a house for our imminent return in 2019, and Larry helped us buy, sight unseen, a condominium in Chapel Hill. With many pictures, descriptions, skype sessions, and emails, we were convinced that we were making the right move in purchasing the condominium; and, having finally traveled back to the States to move into it our furniture and goods, we were pleased with the results of his efforts to help us establish firm footing for our permanent return next year. Larry Tollen is worth consideration when choosing your next realtor, as we have found his services to be professional, proficient, and personable

Gail Zona and Christian Schwoerke - Buyers and Sellers Chapel Hill and Durham

"I am a new, happy homeowner thanks to Andrew! I cannot say enough about how attentive and knowledgeable he is when it comes to buying a home. He made sure we were taken care of and felt comfortable every step of the way. Since this was my first home, he offered to go over the process and paperwork thoroughly, and he made it all easy to understand! He was always available for questions, no matter how many I had. He also kept me on track with our timeline for putting all the pieces together, like the inspection, any work we needed done, homeowners insurance, the mortgage loan application and approval, and contacting the lawyer. He translated legal forms for me and tailored the home-buying experience to my preferences. He made great recommendations for having any repairs done, and I'll definitely ask him for his contacts for future repairs as well. He's also just a great person and comfortable to talk to and be around! He clearly has a lot of experience and I highly recommend hirining him for your next home purchase!"

Leah Parrish 1st Time Homebuyer Durham 6/2018

Andrew is a fantastic Realtor. He is engaged and will ensure you see the houses that fit the needs you describe. His communication is outstanding with quick response times and detailed answers to your questions. If there are items that you might be missing he provides insight.

In our experience with Andrew and team we were delighted with the level of detail in the service. From Andrew's great work to his team's concierge service we could not be happier with the great work they do.

I would highly recommend working with Andrew and his team if you are in need of realty service

Home Buyers May 2015

Jaime and Miranda Sanchez

Larry is absolutely invaluable for a first time home buyer. His wide breadth of knowledge in both building and selling homes, truly helped us make an informed decision. In the end we knew exactly what we were getting and loved it! He is very prompt and takes the time to respond to the most ridiculous of our questions or requests. Additionally, once we had chosen our new home, he made sure the closing process was straight forward and that we understood what was happening. Overall, I would highly recommend him as a realtor.  

Homebuyer December 2016

Omar Lopez and Janet Cano

Before we even moved to Durham, my husband and I contacted Larry to help us find a house. After a quick conversation; Larry ascertained our needs and desires and put together a list for us to peruse, and from that list we selected houses of interest. Once we arrived in town Larry took us on a multi-day tour to visit every house we wanted to see, and let us spend as much or as little time as we needed to get a feel for each home, while asking important questions along the way so he could further tailor the list to our needs. Larry put together a great list for us and helped us understand what matters in a house, and is excellent at inspecting properties for potential pitfalls, such as roof and HVAC age, siding, and mold. With his expert assistance we found a fantastic house in no time and he helped us close in record speed. Larry is knowledgeable and will give you no-nonsense advice in selecting a home, and he will steer you towards the wisest decision you can make while acknowledging your desires. He knows the Triangle very well, understood our commutes and social needs, and has recommended excellent restaurants to visit along the way. He also did a great job negotiating the price for us and works with very competent inspectors. We couldn't recommend him more highly and are very happy with our new home.

Home Buyers - November 2014

Ali Rosenberg

If you want an agent who is straightforward, honest, knowledgeable, and a true advocate for his clients, then Larry is your man. The services he provided prior to listing all the way through closing were invaluable - if you are selling, he will provide a stager, have a professional come in to take measurements and draw an accurate floor plan, have professional pictures taken and virtual tour done, and a professional cleaner come in before closing. Larry is an absolute gem, and if he worked the Raleigh area I would choose him to be my buyer's agent.

Seller - May 2015

Amber Giles

It was a pleasure working with Lauren to find the perfect starter home for me and my fiancé. This was a very new process to my fiancé and I and she explained everything to us. She was always available for when we had questions or when we were wanting to go visit a house. I would highly recommend her if you are looking for a home.

First Time Home Buyer 2017

Erica Nicole Miller

I had a fantastic experience with Andrew! This was my first house purchase and Andrew was enormously helpful in explaining and guiding me through the process. Durham was extremely competitive when I was house hunting. Many houses were selling in less than a week and plenty were selling in less than two days. In spite of that, Andrew helped me find a house that I love.

Home Buyer - July 2015

Charles Noneman

"Andrew sold my last house for me and got me way more money than any other realtor I talked to thought we could get. It was because he understand the value proposition that my old house offered. He brought in a team of workers to get the house ready to show and list it properly. He did such a great job that we got a full price offer on day 1. This was before the boom in Durham. From the moment we signed the rep agreement, everything went perfectly smoothly and I knew I was in the best hands. All of this experience convinced me that I could never use another realtor. Then, for two years he chased every rainbow I pointed at, through budget changes and me figuring out what I actually wanted, with enthusiasm and sound advice. He then helped me through the process of being outbid 6 times in the madness that is currently the downtown Durham housing boom. When we finally found a house we loved he expertly ushered us through the negotiating process, helping us find the best people to work with. He answers the phone, he was wise, patient and a true gentlemen. He surrounds himself with good people. I can't recommend him enough."

Buyers Chapel Hill September 2017

Aaron Greenhood and Daniella Uslan

Andrew Palumbo and Larry Tollen have been wonderful to work with especially because they worked out many details of the transaction while we lived in another state. They both have complete knowledge about the finer points of real estate and go the extra mile in getting things done. We worked primarily with Andrew and his attitude is always calm,cheerful and efficient. He worked closely with his partner to insure that the deal went thru without any hitches. You will be fortunate to have Andrew on your side. A really nice guy and a great team.

Home Buyers - November 2014

Michael and Paula Schneiderman

Larry made the selling of our house easier than we could have possibly imagined. We interviewed several agents and decided to go with him because he was knowledgeable about the area, he was easy to work with, and he was very professional. He arranged for amazing pictures to be taken of our house. Larry priced our house perfectly, and we had multiple offers on the first day. He also remained in close contact throughout the process and did a great job managing all of the minor issues that come up when selling a house. If I had to do it all again, I would absolutely go with Larry Tollen.

Sellers- June 2013

Matt Meier

"Larry is a first-rate buyer's agent. He's knowledgeable, responsive, professional, and a great communicator. Larry helped us buy a home in Chapel Hill when we decided to move back to NC from out of state. Shopping from out of state in a tight market is tough, and Larry was extremely helpful. I flew in for 3 days and spent 2.5 of those days with Larry, looking at houses, negotiating an offer, and executing paperwork. I was glad to have his full attention during that time, and he helped me make the most of the time available. The rest of the diligence and closing process went smoothly. Larry has extensive experience building and improving homes, which he puts to good use during both selecting and inspecting a home. He says his role is to help clients understand the condition of a home's major systems and leave the subjective, aesthetic matters up to his clients -- for us, that was a great fit. We have already recommended Larry to two relatives shopping for homes in Chapel Hill, and I wouldn't hesitate to work with him again the next time I shop for a home here." 

Patrick Reynolds and Kristina Killgrove-Homebuyers 6/2018

It has only been 11 days since we closed, but it feels like so much longer. I want to thank you for your persistence and patience in guiding us to our home purchase. We appreciate all the effort you put into every showing, every rejected offer, and the final successful transaction – somewhat rocky though it was. There were several times when I wanted to do something foolish or futile, and you diplomatically brought me back on track, and I am grateful for that.

Homebuyers September 2015

Joel and Nai-I Finney

Lauren and her team were straightforward and effective to work with - they listened to my needs and tailored our plan around it. Townhouse sold in one day. Would definitely recommend.

-Seller 2016

Veena Rao

As a first-time home-buyer, new to the area, Larry was a lucky find for us. He is pragmatic, detail-oriented, professional and efficient, all while having patience and a healthy sense of humor on top. I did most of the finding of homes to visit, but as soon as we got to a property, Larry sprung into action, evaluating structural details, age of roof, HVAC, etc., so that there were no surprises later. He was very thoughtful in crafting an offer letter, concrete and practical during negotiations, and during diligence you could see how helpful it is to have an experienced, well-connected agent: he has all sorts of inspectors and contractors who love working with him and who do a great job in a timely fashion. He also did a great job negotiating repairs--very savvy about what to ask for and how to get the most out of the seller. After closing, Larry has been a veritable treasure-trove of information on contractors, landscapers, cleaning services, locksmiths, you name it. Although Larry works with a high volume of clients, sometimes I felt like he was my concierge. And my two-year-old loved him as well!

Home Buyers August 2013

Marisa Escolar and Gianluca Corinaldesi

"Larry helped us find our dream home in the Chapel Hill area. We were new to the process and the area, and Larry communicated everything we needed to know and helped us understand the process. Our home was for sale by owner, a situation we didn't quite understand. The seller ended up telling us that he accepted our offer over a higher one because he trusted that Larry would get it done quickly and efficiently. Larry also works with solid vendors and professionals in the area (home inspection, well/septic, maintenance, etc.) and the process from offer to close couldn't have been easier. His background in construction also helped us learn quite a bit as we toured homes. We'd definitely recommend working with Larry." Jeremy Konar and Cameron Goodyear

Jeremy Konar and Cameron Good Year Home Buyers 2018

Dear Larry and Andrew,
 

Thank you for giving us a worry-free process during an otherwise difficult time.  Everything that you promised in the beginning worked out pretty much as you said.  Anthony was very professional and conscientious about the details.  I am glad that our mother's house will be a good home for people who appreciate living in Chapel Hill as much as she did.

I will always be glad to recommend you to other clients.
 
Happy New Year to you and yours -
 
Monika

Monika Greenleaf Chapel Hill Seller 2017

"Larry Tollen is the best type of realtor. As a first time home buyer I had a lot of questions and concerns about the process. I have had lots of friends who have been buying homes before me and so I asked them what type of realtor they had and decided that there are two types of realtors 1.) the type that helps you see the good things about the houses and 2.) the type who knows tons about construction, materials, and the possible drawbacks of each house and tells you all the critical information you can so that you can make the best decision for you. Larry is able to do both – but especially excels and looking deeply into the construction and materials of a house. He provided me with tons of information that I would not have known and helped me a avoid a few places that looked great but were concealing some flaws that would have made them a bad fit and that I would have never seen on my own. He was kind, caring, and amazingly in touch and communicative. He is someone you can trust and count on. I have already recommended him to friends and hope that everyone can have as positive a home buying experience as Larry was able to facilitate for me."

 Carrboro Buyer- 7/18

Dane Emmerling

If you want an agent who is straightforward, honest, knowledgeable, and a true advocate for his clients, then Larry is your man. The services he provided prior to listing all the way through closing were invaluable - if you are selling, he will provide a stager, have a professional come in to take measurements and draw an accurate floor plan, have professional pictures taken and virtual tour done, and a professional cleaner come in before closing. Larry is an absolute gem, and if he worked the Raleigh area I would choose him to be my buyer's agent.

Seller May 2015

Amber Giles

To set the stage: We were pressed for time. We had to be out of our previous house very quickly, and our travel schedules cut that timeline down even more. That meant that we had to be incredibly aggressive with our home viewing schedule, and  Andrew was absolutely up to the task! Not only was he swift, he was honest and helpful with all of the construction knowledge he brought to the table. We've been in our new home for about four months now, and we keep feeling better and better about not only our purchase, but going with Andrew and My NC Homes.  Home Buyers August, 2016

Nina Baltierra & Richie Kahn

"Andrew helped us immensely to purchase of our first home. We trusted him whenever we had to make important decisions and during tough calls. He was very respectful of our choices (and changes in mind) but was always there to offer his expert opinion on all aspect of the transaction. Andrew was very responsive and always showed the houses we wanted even the same day. We ended up finding a great house and he was available to send an offer and negotiate on Easter Sunday!"  Paolo Bocci - First Time Durham Home Buyer 2017

Paolo Bocci

Wick and I can not thank you enough for your personal input resulting in the excellent above asking price signed contract on our house!!!! Just unbelievable that it was on the market for showing less than 24 hours and we have a signed contract ! I know Andrew has the highest value for your very astute and experienced advise, as do we...

I personally called Andrew to thank him since he has been indispensable in getting this miraculously quick and outstandingly priced contract for us from the very beginning, when getting contractors to the contract signing today !!! He has military diligence and valuable knowledge about every aspect of getting a house ready for market.. a true leader and go getter!!

Your team and company have honestly provided us with the highest level of service and integrity that we have ever received.... We look forward to your continued support as we move forward to a successful closing on May 26. It will be our pleasure to recommend your esteemed realty office and Andrew as well as you to anyone needing the BEST! We our sincere thanks.

Home Sellers April 2015

Wick and Kris Wickliffe

MyNCHome’s Larry Tollen and Andrew Palumbo confidently and successfully guided us through the complexity that comes with the sale of an existing home and the building of another.  With patience, professionalism, and, most importantly, serving steadfastly as our advocates during this process, they ensured that the sale of our house maximized the return in which we sought and the negotiations and building of our new home met all of our needs.  Their combined knowledge of both the process, what to expect, communication with the builder, and recommendation of an ethical and reliable inspector set our minds at rest.  They were tough when they needed to be as clearly demonstrated in their ability to ask the right questions of the builder which ensured that the job was done correctly and no detail was left out.  We strongly recommend this team to anyone who is seriously considering a sale and then a build.  As a family with a young child, the stress and uncertainty that such a project can bring can be daunting.  Having the right team is everything and Larry and Andrew get it done.  Period. Sellers 2015 / New Construction Buyers 2016

Nathan and Parul Goetz Sellers 2015 / Buyers 2016

I would never work with another Realtor. Larry and MyNCHomes are exceptionally knowledgeable and communicative throughout the process. When I thought I might have to pull out of the deal due to my current lease situation, he came up with such a great alternative that my lender was envious, saying, "I wish I had thought of that!" We closed on time with very few hiccups. You will not regret hiring Larry and MyNCHomes as your Realtor!

Home Buyer April 2015

 

Anne Aylin

Andrew was absolutely terrific from the first moment we were connected to him up until even after we closed! This guy knows his stuff. We were first time home buyers, so we had endless questions. He helped us consider things that we didn't even know we should be considering. He has incredible  experience in construction, so helped us look at windows/walls/doors/air conditioning/foundation at every home we viewed. He always responded right away to our emails and texts. We had multiple family members come to town before we closed, and he went out of his way to show the house to them even though it was the weekend. Andrew was extremely helpful and honest in telling us if a house was overpriced, if he thought we should offer a little more, etc. We would recommend him 100 times over to anyone buying a home, especially for first time buyers. We continued to go to him for help after we moved in for questions about our dishwasher and plumbing. He is kind and helpful, he made the buying process painless and fun!  Homebuyer August, 2016

Brandon and Sarah Bowser

Larry is an excellent agent. He was honest, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. I would definitely recommend him to anyone looking to buy or sell a house.

Seller - July 2014

Tom Sebanc

My family recently relocated from New York City to Durham, NC, and Larry Tollen helped us throughout the process. I really can't recommend him highly enough. The experience was ideal and we are delighted with our new home. Larry combines a deep knowledge of the real estate environment down here (as well as home construction) with a strong sense of professionalism and integrity, as well as a robust network of resources for the home buyer and home owner. He quickly became our "go to" person for any questions we had related to our move, including referrals to a host of related services. We were particularly impressed with Larry's responsiveness. He very efficiently balanced a heavy load of clients during a busy season with our needs for information and questions about our house search. Larry is a calm and easygoing person, which was very reassuring during the occasionally stressful process of buying a home. His confidence and knowledge were always reassuring, and his proactive handling of the due diligence, legal, and financial aspects made everything that much easier for us. So, all in all, we will recommend Larry very highly to anyone who asks (and will likely take him up on his invitation to use him as a referral source for home services-related information!)‚Äč

Home Buyers May 2015

Jonathan Markow and Beth Navon

We worked with Andrew Palumbo as our buyer's agent when looking for a home for our move from WV. He was always available on our schedule with our infrequent trips to NC to show us properties we selected. When we located a home that we had previously looked at but was not currently on the market, he contacted the owner for us and negotiated a fair price on our behalf. He also setup the inspections and attended them when we couldn't be there. He maintained frequent, timely correspondence with us at all times and arranged for a closing that we didn't have to attend. He offered us professional advice not only with our purchase, but also in relation to the sale of our home. I would recommend anyone considering property in the greater Durham area to strongly consider MyNCHomes as your realtor.

Home Buyer - August 2014

Richard Newcome

We worked with Andrew Palumbo to buy our home and we were thoroughly impressed. From the first time we met him, he was extremely easy to work with and really understood what we were looking for. Andrew was an expert on the area and the process in general, which was a great asset to us as it was  our first home purchase. During our search, we were interested in houses that we could work on and improve over the next few years, and Andrew's knowledge of construction upgrades/repairs was a great help as he could give us an idea of what costs and work might be involved at each home. He was also very quick to answer all our questions and made time to show us houses as they came on the market. Overall, we cannot recommend Andrew enough. Working with him was absolutely wonderful and we plan to work with him again!  Home Buyer January, 2016

Patrick Hogan & Kelsey Pieper

As first time home buyers with a limited budget, we were in need of a Realtor who would be patient and willing to explain the process to us, and Larry met our needs and exceeded our expectations. Working with Larry was a pleasure, and his reassurances and suggestions were immensely valuable throughout this process. During viewings, Larry would point out all manner of things (while we were walking around doing the emotional assessment, he was busy looking for potential financial pitfalls: "Guys, I'd like you to come look at this..." was a phrase we heard often. He was good with giving guesstimates of the ages of things like the roof and HVAC system, and educating us about things like "just house settling cracks" and "signaling distress cracks" in the foundation.

Because of Larry's experience doing market analysis, his evaluations about pricing were dead-on and realistic. He was patient with our emotional approach to home buying, but he also continued to point to the bottom line, and explained us whether or not the house was worth the price in the current market.

When we decided on a house, Larry took care of EVERYTHING! He organized the inspections to be done all on one day, and the inspectors he set us up with were courteous and thorough. When someone else (the sellers, for instance) were taking too long to respond, Larry was quick to write a short note "just checking in" to make sure that the process didn't drag on. We were kept up to date on each communication Larry had with every other person we dealt with. We can't recommend him enough!

Home Buyers - October 2014

Sara and Robinson Earle

Lauren was extremely helpful in helping me find my first home! She not only helped me find exactly what I was looking for, but explained anything I didn't understand in the process as we went along. Great experience with a great agent!

-First Time Home Buyer 2016

Jamie Hockaday

We recently sold a town home in Carrboro, and I would highly recommend our realtor, Larry Tollen. This was my husband's second time working with Larry, who originally helped him buy the property many years ago. We returned to Larry when we ready to sell, knowing we'd be in good hands with him. Larry is extremely professional, responsive, and detail oriented. He got us over asking price with multiple bids during the first 48 hours on the market. Larry was very knowledgeable about the market and provided helpful advice and assistance as we renovated and prepared the townhome for sale. He negotiated a great deal, and everything after went very smoothly all the way through closing. We greatly appreciate all of Larry's hard work for us, and would absolutely recommend him to anyone who is looking to buy or sell a home!

Carrboro 7/2018

William and Caitlin Biggers - Sellers and Buyers

"Lauren was an absolute pleasure to work with. I am new to the area and she helped me to become familiar with Durham and the surrounding area so that I could find my ideal location. Always available and highly flexible with my difficult schedule. Was able to help me through the entire process and answer my many questions. Made the process much less stressful and has a great team supporting her as well. Highly recommended!"

Jeff Skoczlas First Time Durham Homebuyer 2017

 

Jeff Skoczlas

Lauren worked with me while selling our house. I can’t begin to say how much I appreciate her willingness to help. She is knowledgeable, personable, endlessly patient, and incredibly generous with her time. She answered every question and explained every form and every part of the process clearly and thoroughly. Selling my home was very challenging due to personal matters, but working with Lauren made it as painless and straightforward as possible. I highly recommend her.

Home Seller 2017

Debbie Ayscue

If you are looking for an agent who is knowledgeable, professional, intelligent, personable and no nonsense, Larry Tollen is the one for you! He was on top of every thing from the listing, to negotiating of a contract to the final closing. His assistance and support made the process of selling my home run smoothly. He really takes the burden off the seller while keeping you informed of all activity and actions. I have and will continue to recommend him to anyone I know who is looking to buy or sell in the Research Triangle area! 

Gail Austin - Seller - Chapel Hill

We couldn't have been more pleased with Larry as our realtor. As first time home buyers, he thoroughly explained the home buying process and was patient with our questions and inquires. We found him to be highly knowledgeable about all aspects of real estate and the local market. He also made the house tours fun and enjoyable.

Home Buyers May 2015

Scott Gifford and Alecia Septer

Larry helped me in the search process for my home, and helped me purchase the one I eventually selected. Larry absolutely shines in a number of ways. He worked with me quite well in selecting plausible candidates, respecting my choices and learning from them, and adding some very good ones of his own to the mix. When evaluating homes, Larry is not one of those "Mr. Sunshine" brokers -- he was quick to point out flaws, and was quick to walk away when it was clear one of our choices was not a good fit when viewed in person. He's got extensive knowledge of building and construction that helps a lot in this regard. When it came to buying the one I chose, he's got good contacts and streamlined the fairly complex set of required inspections so they went smoothly and quickly.

Home Buyer - July 2014

Boyce Byerly

Larry is both an excellent buyer broker and seller broker. A true testament to what those in the realtor profession should aspire. Due to his very firm background in building construction and local markets a client can rest assured Larry knows what he’s talking about and has their interests at heart.

A little background: Larry came recommended to me by a colleague several years ago when I was first interested in purchasing a home in Durham. As I was someone not very well-versed in anything home-related at the time, Larry was kind enough to give me an outline of all the required steps, what his opinion of the local markets were, and an honest opinion of what might be appropriate for my needs. I did not end up purchasing anything then, but fast forward 7 years where I have a family with 2 kids and looking to expand and change locations, as well as sell my wife’s home.

Larry and I had intermittent contact during those years and I let him know we were ready to start getting serious again. He rapidly set up a meeting with us to get a clear understanding of what our desires were and notably, what we did not want to see in our home screens. Within a day, we were set up to get automatic alerts. The 2 biggest benefits you will get with Larry are his knowledge of the market and his very deep knowledge of home building. He’s not just some guy trying to sell you a house. Larry has a keen eye for structural components of homes. He will take the time to point out and consider things that not all buyers will. For instance, how old is the HVAC, condition of roof, too many trees close to the house, settling of the ground and any affects, environment surrounding the local neighborhood? He’s also willing to share his vision of what a home could be and not let buyers focus entirely on what they’re seeing. To be clear this doesn’t come with any pressure but only as things someone should think about. Secondly, his data driven knowledge of the market is invaluable when it comes to pricing and negotiations. He’s willing to be firm and unyielding if something isn’t really reasonable or he’s more lenient with something that’s small potatoes. Ultimately, he’s interested coming to an agreement that works for both buyers and sellers, while getting whichever one he represents the most value. Always practical in his opinions, his ego and compensation are never a factor. He’s going to get his commission regardless and the difference of some thousands of dollars on a buy or sell don’t really matter. Realtors make their money with volume. And to this end he does quite alright because he provides such excellent service to his clients Despite that I know he was serving many other clients simultaneously as a buyer and seller, I always felt that Larry was devoted to my cause; he was always available to answer questions and give opinions when asked. He was never a communication bottleneck; when it came down to buying and selling our homes we was always the first responder. At the end of the day, I can confidently say that Larry was everything I could have hoped for in a realtor, and then some.

Mark Vittuci and Kerry Dorr Buyers and Sellers Spring 2016

Mark Vittuci and Kerry Door

Larry Tollen and Andrew Palumbo guided us through the remodel and sale of our late mother's condominium expertly and almost unbelievably efficiently. They made what could have been, and what I expected to be, a traumatic experience easier than I could ever have imagined. Since my sister and I both live in other states, we were unable to be present while the work was being done. No problem. Everything proceeded exactly as they said it would, on time and consistently with their estimates. The condo sold immediately for a good price. Thank you, Larry and Andrew.  If I ever have reason to buy property in the Raleigh Durham area, I will certainly seek you out.

Dr. Anita Shelton

Anita Shelton Chapel Hill Seller 2017

Andrew helped us find a charming and solid home in Durham, and was exceptionally patient and available to us the entire way through. Our budget wasn't high, and the house we bought was pretty inexpensive, but we always felt like we were at the top of Andrew's priority list. He was willing to show us a lot of homes and tolerated our indecisiveness so well, asking questions to understand our needs and reservations, then thoughtfully sharing his opinion without being pushy at all. We were also impressed by how involved Larry was, even though Andrew was our main agent. As first time home buyers, we started out inexperienced, but through Andrew and Larry's guidance and expertise, ended the process with a real sense of confidence in what to look for when buying real estate. This is due in part to Andrew's previous work experience in construction and landscape, and we really benefited from that. Obviously, we would highly recommend Andrew and MyNCHomes

Home Buyers - November 2014

Jordan & Francis Motta

We first met Larry about more than a year before we bought our home and he was kind enough to show us some properties we were interested in. We were first time home buyers and when we were finally ready we reached out to Larry who introduced us to Andrew. By this time we knew exactly what we wanted. Andrew was great. He understood our needs and took all the steps need to accomplish the goal. He walked us through the process and made sure to check with us every step of the way to make sure we were comfortable before processing. He even meet us on a day off to get some paperwork. Thank you Andrew! We love our new home!

Home Buyers - February 2014

Nick Kuhn and Andrea Roush

We had a great experience with Larry. He’s extremely professional and goes to bat for you in a no nonsense manner. He’s quick to respond with questions and he’s always available to handle the various situations that can arise in the home selling process. He gives great guidance and provides a wonderful marketing program. We would highly recommend Larry.

Home Seller 8/2017 Apex

Carol and Todd Burnett

My husband and I were comforted knowing that we were in such capable hands during our home building and buying process with Larry Tollen. Larry eloquently and effectively handled several mishaps on the part of the builder that occurred while our home was being built. Larry is an honest, dedicated realtor that shares his knowledge of critical aspects of the home and buying process with his buyers. He never pressured us to rush into any contract with him or the seller. We sincerely appreciate his expertise and highly recommend him to prospective buyers

Home Buyers May 2015

Megan and Justin Eldridge

Thanks again for your assistance in selling our home.  I wanted to give you a bit more feedback.  As you might remember we were considering two other realtors at the time we were looking for someone to list the house.  What guided us to choose Larry and you, was the fact that you had  a well developed website with lots of information in contrast to the other realtors whose websites served just as  little more than a business card.

We were also impressed by how well you understood the market (and the research you did in preparation for our first meeting) and also we had
the sense that you would be a strong and active negotiator.  These traits put you ahead of the competition.

So thank you very much.  We won't hesitate to refer others we know to you and your team. - Jeff and Nonna 

Nonna Skumanich- Seller Durham 6/18

Larry Tollen is an excellent realtor and we wholeheartedly recommend his services as a real estate agent. Larry knows the local market and was able to show us homes in our price range throughout the Durham–Chapel Hill area. He suggested we look at new construction as it gave us virtually everything we wanted generally at a lower price point. We ended up taking that advice and just closed on our newly constructed house in mid-November. Larry was with us every step of the way; this was critical for us as we were out-of-state during the building process. He is diligent, knowledgeable and very easy to deal with. He responds to all enquiries promptly and in a thorough manner. Honestly, he exceeds expectations. Furthermore, he is professional; he neither smothers you in trite observations nor does he fail to listen to your preferences and requirements. He added genuine value to our real estate buying experience.  Home Buyers November 2015

John and Bonnie McCarthy

After interviewing several realtors, with decided to work with Andrew and My NC Homes. We found him to be detail oriented, responsive, knowledgeable about the local market conditions, and easy to work with. All through the process, he stayed on top of all of the details and was very helpful in negotiations. We greatly appreciated his advice and would highly recommend him.

Sellers - July 2015

Craig and Ginny Scmidth

Andrew was amazing to work with - he walked us through his plan for selling our home step by step. He explained not only what he recommended but WHY it was important and what impact it would probably have on our goals in selling our home. His advice, guidance and marketing helped sell our home  quickly and made the process as stress-free as possible. We highly recommend Andrew and My NC Homes to anyone looking to sell their home in the Triangle!  Home Seller June, 2016

Corinne & Jeremy Belch

Larry has helped me buy and sell many homes over the years. Anyone can show a house and anyone can write an offer to purchase. But, where Larry is invaluable is in guiding both the buyer and the seller, and sometimes another novice realtor, through the due diligence process, keeping everyone focused and on track. He brings everyone back to focus on the most important parts of the process while steering them through the maze of emotions and things that can easily sidetrack a contractual agreement. While Larry is sensitive to the needs of both parties, he helps take the emotions out of the equation in order to finalize a deal and have both parties win. This, and this alone, is what makes it so necessary to have the services of a true professional, and Larry is stellar in his performance throughout the sometimes tangled web of real estate transactions. I often just sit back and let him run the show, confident that he has my best interest at heart, along with getting the deal closed! This is what makes Larry shine and this is why it is so important to have a true professional realtor, such as Larry, on your side during such an important decision. I am so happy to have had his experience and knowledge available to me on many occasions, and would highly recommend his services for great RESULTS!

Home Buyer and Seller - Multiple Occasions

Dr. Karen Bremer

Andrew is an expert of his field. He has local knowledge and market understanding. We are grateful to him to help and guide us in buying our very first home as beautiful as we imagined. Thanks.  Home Buyer June, 2016

Balvir Singh

We first got to know Larry as our buyers agent in 2010. That process went smoothly, and Larry was very responsive over the years helping us find excellent contractors to work on our home when needed. Aware that we would be selling again in a few years, we also talked with him before doing improvements to make sure we weren't maxing out our home's potential value. 

We recently had an unexpected relocation across the country and consulted Larry on whether to rent our house out through the fall/winter or sell it right away. We followed his advice to get it on the market as quickly as possible, which meant that he had to coordinate some things for us while we were gone. He had a yard crew come in and clean up the lot (we had been gone). When we decided we wanted to have the exterior painted at the last minute, he knew the guy to do the job (done affordably and within 2 days!). His photographer's marketing pictures were stunning. When Larry needs things done, he finds a way to get them done and knows exactly who can help. Most importantly, he knows the market extremely well and priced our house right on the money. We got three offers in the first two days and were closed in a little more than a month. His timing and efficiency with it all was impeccable. Throughout the whole process, we knew we were in good hands and couldn't have asked for a more experienced and knowledgable agent. All in all, selling was a very easy process, thanks to Larry's expertise and hard work. We would recommend him to anyone and in fact have recommended him to all of our friends looking into buying or selling.

Home Buyers 2010 and Sellers 2014

Jim and Lindsey Bennett

My wife and I were referred to Larry by some friends of ours who purchased their first home with him. Even considering the glowing recommendation we got from them Larry and the MyNCHomes Team exceeded all our expectations. This was our first experience buying a house and throughout the entire process Larry did a great job of helping us feel educated and confident in our decisions and was not afraid to leverage his expertise and experience to challenge us to look at things from multiple perspectives. Everyone he referred us to from the inspector to the mortgage and legal teams was outstanding. Larry made us feel like we were the only client he was working with and helped us find the perfect home for us in a fraction of the time we expected to spend looking. Whether you are buying your first home like us or you've been through this before and know exactly what you want, I can't say enough to recommend him.

Home Buyers April 2015

Corey and Samantha Kraft

Larry worked with us to both buy and sell our home. Both were great experiences, and we highly recommend Larry for either buying or selling your property. Larry worked with us tirelessly to find our home. He was patient with our requests, knowledgeable about the areas in which we were looking, and willing to offer advice on the home buying process that we felt was invaluable as first-time home buyers. With his combined experience in real estate and construction, we found we could count on Larry to recommend certain homebuilding materials over others based on maintenance costs and resale value. On the selling front, Larry worked with us to determine the sale price of our home based on the present market and was a true champion of its value. Again, he offered wise advice throughout the process and kept us on track towards a successful sale. Larry is direct and fair, qualities that we found refreshing and necessary while navigating the arduous processes of home buying and selling. Our only regret is that we moved out of the area and will not be able to work with him again to find our next home!

Home Buyers and Sellers June 2015

Jason Gionta and Emily Lowery-Gionta

Andrew and Larry are awesome. They worked with us through the entire process. They are extremely responsive and knowledgeable. They made useful suggestions and kept us informed through the entire project. They made my job so easy and relaxed. I would highly recommend them for any of your real  estate needs. They are very professional and highly ethical. No hesitation with them.  Estate Home Seller, April, 2016

Keith Headman

Larry was recommended to us by my son & daughter-in-law after acting as a sellers agent for their home in Durham, and their buyer's agent in purchasing their new home. My wife and I were searching for a very specific set of requirements in a new home that would be an alternative to a very extensive addition to our existing house. He worked diligently and expertly to find the specifics we were looking for, and helped us through the purchase; he then proceeded to support us in the necessary renovation to prepare our old house for sale. In this he was invaluable, having a great deal of expertise in building and repairs. Once the renovation was complete, he was able to achieve his targeted price for our house, a price which that we had not thought possible, and which was a full 10% above the best appraisal we were able to receive. In fact the house was not on the market for more than a few days. While this is a reflection of the very strong demand at that time in Cary, his sense and reading of the market, and his timing of the process was impeccable. I highly recommend Larry.

Home Buyers and Sellers 2015

Larry and Jillian goldberg

Larry is a full-stack realtor. We have listed and bought through Larry, and he has proven himself to be an expert negotiator. He will get you the price you want, whether you are buying or selling. He and his team at My NC Homes literally think of everything - even if you are a detail-oriented person, you will always find him one step ahead of you. In the triangle area, I will never need another realtor.

Home Buyer and Seller 2015

Dr. Ryan and Shannon Schulteis

We were prepared to move in early summer, During the late spring we contacted Larry Tollen and Andrew Palumbo. As a result of meeting with them, we were given a game plan for staging our house, pricing and timing. We followed their recommendations and five days after our house was listed, it was sold. To you prospective sellers, get in contact with Andrew and do what he says. You'll be very happy.

Sellers- July 2015

John and Mary Burbridge

Andrew J. Palumbo was an amazing agent to work with. He was very knowledgeable about the area we bought a house in. He came with a great recommendation from a friend which it turn was a very great choice on our part to use him through the process. He always responded to us in a timely fashion and  was all about business. No sugar coating things he gave us very useful and real information. He also has a good sense of humor that makes looking at houses fun. He's an amazing realtor and I would recommend him to anyone and use him again if we choose to buy another house one day.  Home Buyers, FSBO, March, 2016

Jasmine Johnson & Erika Lewis

Larry Tollen is unquestionably the best Realtor we have ever dealt with.  We live in Minnesota and about a year we started looking for condos in the Durham area.  Our daughter and family live in Durham and she found Larry's website and we followed suit.

Within a few months we arranged an appointment with Larry.  From our first meeting we concluded that he was truly a professional, and exhibited a willingness to "go the extra mile".  He was always available to address whatever issues came our way, even long distance.  We finally "fell in love" with a foreclosure in the area.  Larry was very up front with us and educated us to the pros and cons of this type of transaction. He was with us every step of the way and always reflected our best interest.  He worked extremely hard and generous with his time.

Larry is a personable,sensitive and exceptional Realtor and we would highly recommend him .  Thank you Larry

Home Buyers - February 2014

Bruce and Peggy Lodewyk

If selling a house again, I would certainly want to work with Andrew again. We had a home out in the country that we expected to be on the market for 2 months or so (due to average time on market). Andrew's online strategy helped generate a large amount of traffic and we received the winning offer after just a week. Andrew helped us navigate the negotiations, even while at an out-of-state wedding on Easter weekend!

Andrew and the My NC Homes team are very organized, ready and able to help with the many tasks of getting a house market-ready, and his advice was always valuable.

Seller - August 2015

Meg and Patrick McElwee

We were first time home buyers that knew what we wanted. Andrew was great. He understood our needs and took all the steps need to accomplish the goal. He walked us through the process and made sure to check with us every step of the way to make sure we were comfortable before processing. He even meet us on a day off to get some paperwork. Thank you Andrew! We love our new home!

Home Buyers- September 2014

Latoya Schultz and Brian Powell